Zimbabwe excluded from IMF debt relief


Zimbabwe, which is already facing a severe food shortage, has not been included among the 25 countries that are to receive debt relief totaling US$500 million from the International Monetary Fund.

The funds are being provided under the Catastrophe Containment and Relief Trust as part of the Fund’s response to help address the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.

“This provides grants to our poorest and most vulnerable members to cover their IMF debt obligations for an initial phase over the next six months and will help them channel more of their scarce financial resources towards vital emergency medical and other relief efforts,” the IMF said yesterday.

The World Food Programme says about half the population of Zimbabwe, about7.7 million people, needs food relief this year including more than two million from urban areas.

Zimbabwe has so far reported 17 cases of coronavirus including three deaths.

Ironically, one of Africa’s fastest growing economies, Rwanda, is on the list.

The countries to receive debt relief are:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Benin
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Central African Republic
  5. Chad
  6. Comoros
  7. Congo, D.R.
  8. The Gambia
  9. Guinea
  10. Guinea-Bissau
  11. Haiti
  12. Liberia
  13. Madagascar
  14. Malawi
  15. Mali
  16. Mozambique
  17. Nepal
  18. Niger
  19. Rwanda
  20. São Tomé and Príncipe
  21. Sierra Leone
  22. Solomon Islands
  23. Tajikistan
  24. Togo and
  25. Yemen

Continued next page


Don't be shellfish... Please SHAREShare on google
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Like it? Share with your friends!

Charles Rukuni
The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *