Mnangagwa sets up inter-ministerial task force to implement reforms


President Emmerson Mnangagwa has set up an inter-ministerial task force to implement political, electoral and legislative reforms aimed at deepening the country’s democratic processes as well as the ease of doing business.

The task force will be headed by Justice Minister Ziyambi Ziyambi with Sibusiso Moyo as his deputy.

Other members of the task force are Information Minister Monica Mutsvangwa, Finance Minister Mthuli Ncube, Home Affairs Minister Cain Mathema, Industry Minister Mangaliso Ndlovu, State Security Minister Owen Ncube, Attorney-General Prince Machaya and representatives of the Law Society of Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission.

The task force will also address issues arising from the reports by the 2018 Harmonised Election Observer Missions as well as the findings of the Motlanthe Commission.

Regional and continental observer missions endorsed the elections but most foreign observer missions expressed concern about the freeness and fairness of the elections.

The Motlanthe Commission looked into the 1 August 2018 violence, two days after the Zimbabwe elections, and condemned the army for killing six people during the violence but also blamed the main opposition for fuelling the violence.


Don't be shellfish... Please SHAREShare on google
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Like it? Share with your friends!

Charles Rukuni
The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *