MDC gives candidates until Tuesday to confirm nominations for congress


The Movement for Democratic Change has given candidates who were nominated for posts at the forthcoming congress until Tuesday to accept the nominations or withdraw.

This was one of the resolutions reached by the party’s national council when it met in Harare yesterday.

The party said where more than two candidates accept nomination, they are encouraged to discuss in the spirit of consensus building.

Positions being contested are those of president, vice-president, national chairperson, secretary-general and treasurer general.

Nelson Chamisa is currently the party president and has been widely endorsed for the congress which will be held from 24-26 May.

The party currently has three vice-presidents, Elias Mudzuri who was appointed by the late party founder Morgan Tsvangirai, and Welshman Ncube and Morgen Komichi who were both appointed by Chamisa.

The national chairperson is currently Tabitha Khumalo with Douglas Mwonzora as secretary-general.

Khumalo was reportedly unhappy about being appointed chairperson as she was eyeing the post of vice-president vacated by Thokozani Khupe when she left the party after disagreeing with Chamisa.

Mwonzora was reported to be aiming to challenge Chamisa for the top post but is said to have stepped down because conditions were not conducive for free elections.

The treasurer is Theresa Makone but she has been grossly overshadowed by her deputy Charlton Hwende since Chamisa took over.

Nominations so far are reported as follows:

  1. President: Nelson Chamisa (13)
  2. Vice Presidents: Morgen Komichi (11), Tendai Biti (9), Welshman Ncube (8), Lilian Timveos (6), Paurina Mpariwa (1), Tracy Mutinhiri (1) and Lynette Karenyi-Kore (1)
  3. National Chairperson: Tabitha Khumalo (11), Gabbuza Joel Gabuza (1) and Bekithemba Mpofu (1)
  4. Vice Chairperson: Happymore Chidziva (8), Bheki Sibanda (2), Job Sikhala (1), Costa Machingauta (1) and Tendai Biti (1)
  5. Secretary-General: Chalton Hwende (9), Daniel Molokela (1), Welshman Ncube (1) and Douglas Mwonzora (1)
  6. Deputy Secretary-General: Concillia Chinanzvavana (6), Settlement Chikwinya (5), Daniel Molokela (1) and Caston Matewu (1)
  7. Treasurer General: David Coltart (8), Tapiwa Mashakada (3), Tendai Biti (1) and Tabitha Khumalo (1)
  8. Deputy Treasurer: Tapiwa Mashakada (3), Markam Rusty (2), Gift Banda (2), Earthrage Kureva (4), Murisi Zwizwai (1) and David Coltart (1)
  9. National Organiser: Amos Chibaya (12) and Job Sikhala (1)
  10. Deputy National Organiser: Settlement Chikwinya, Morgan Ncube, Paul Madzore, Jacob Mafume
  11. National Spokesperson: Jacob Mafume (8), Luke Tamborinyoka (4)
  12. Deputy National Spokesperson: Luke Tamborinyoka (5) Brian Dube (3), Ruth Labode (1), Kunashe Muchemwa (1), Jacob Mafume (1) and Tabitha Khumalo (1).

Full statemnt

Saturday, 27 April 2019

Resolutions of the National Council meeting of 27 April 2019 held at Morgan Tsvangirai House, Harare

The MDC National Council met today, the 27th of April 2019, and reviewed the Congress progress. The Council received a report from the

Organising Department. The report included the completion of 11200 branch Congresses, 1958 Ward Congresses, 210 District Congresses and 13 Provincial Congresses.

All nominees have been given up to Tuesday to accept nominations or to withdraw. Where more than two candidates accept the nomination, they are encouraged to discuss in the spirit of consensus building.

The Electoral Commission shall then produce ballots on every position where more than one candidate decide to contest. The positions to be contested include the President, Vice President, National Chairperson, Secretary General and Treasurer General.

The report included results of the nominations conducted at Provincial Congresses for the three wings of the party including the Women and  Youth Assemblies.

A report from the National Independent Electoral Commission was also presented detailing how elections were conducted. The Party mandated the Commission to organise Caucuses for those contesting each other to table before members and the public what they will offer the party and country if elected.

These debates shall be open to the public, the media and shall be streamed live on the Party’s official social media platforms. The Commission shall appoint independent moderators for these debates.

The National Council also resolved to reserve a seat for a female Vice President and modalities for the same shall be finalized by the Electoral Commission.

Finally, the Council gazetted the calendar which includes the following: (Sikhala Memorial) – 03 May, (Morgan Tsvangirai Memorial) – 04 May  and the Caucuses to run from the 5th to the 20th of May 2019.

The Congress is running under the theme, “Defining A New Course for Zimbabwe.”

Jacob Mafume

MDC National Spokesperson


Don't be shellfish... Please SHAREShare on google
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Like it? Share with your friends!

Charles Rukuni
The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *