Zimbabwe Security Minister added to US sanctions list

Zimbabwe Security Minister added to US sanctions list

Zimbabwe Minister of State Security Owen Ncube was today added to the United States sanctions list together with Zimbabwe’s ambassador to Tanzania Anselem Sanyatwe who is also former commander of the Presidential Guard.

The US extended its sanctions on Zimbabwe by a year last week. They were due to expire on 6 March.

Some 139 individuals and firms are on the current list which includes dead people like former President Robert Mugabe and former Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front officials who fled the country when Emmerson Mnangagwa took over.

These include former G40 kingpins Jonathan Moyo, Saviour Kasukuwere and Patrick Zhuwao.

Even those at loggerheads with Mnangagwa’s administration such as Ignatius Chombo, Augustine Chihuri and Jaison Machaya are still under US sanctions.

Only four people were removed from the list today.

They are Ray Kaukonde a former governor for Mashonaland East; Shuvai Mahofa, former Provincial Affairs Minister for Masvingo who died in August 2017; former deputy president of the Senate Naison Ndlovu who died in May 2017; and former Provincial Affairs Minister for Matebeleland North  Sithokozile Mathuthu who died in August 2018.



No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *