Moyo appoints new board for ZBC


Information Minister Jonathan Moyo has appointed a new board for the Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation. It is chaired by Dennis Magaya. Other members are: Ndabezinhle Dlodlo, Phyllis Johnson, Gelfand Kausiyo, Donald Khumalo, Joyce Jenje-Makwenda, Charity Manyeruke, Rudo Mudavanhu, Father Gibson Munyoro, Cleopatra Matanhire-Mutisi and Blessing Rugara. The new board replaces that of Cuthbert Dube which was fired last year for failing to restructure the national broadcaster. The chief executive Happison Muchechetere was sent on leave after revelations that he was earning nearly US$40 000 a month including allowances. Moyo said: “Among other urgent tasks before it, the new ZBC board is expected, and indeed required, to restructure and turn around ZBC to ensure it has the right skills to make it commercially viable and technologically sound as a public broadcaster with a national mandate in light of the challenges of digital migration and the requirements of Zimbabwe’s new Constitution and informed by the outcome of the forensic and strategy audit of the ZBC that is about to be done by independent auditors under the auspices of the Comptroller and Auditor-General.”


Don't be shellfish... Please SHARETweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn
Email this to someone
Print this page

Like it? Share with your friends!

Charles Rukuni
The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *