Khupe elected president of MDC-T but members question inclusion of Linda Masarira

Thokozani Khupe, who refused to accept the appointment of Nelson Chamisa as leader of the Movement for Democratic Change-Tsvangirai, was today elected unopposed as president of her own faction also going by the name of MDC-T.

However, the election of Linda Masarira as national spokesperson, at the extra-ordinary congress held in Bulawayo today, is being queried by some members who argue that she is not even a member of the party but is an activist from Tajamuka.

Khupe’s supporters argued that she could not be demanding constitutionalism while at the same time breaching the party constitution by allowing someone who is not a member of the party into the top executive.

Obert Gutu and Abednigo Bhebhe who were both expelled from the other MDC –T together with Khupe were elected vice-president and national chairperson, respectively.

Other key members are Yvonne Musarurwa (organising secretary), Isabel Mwonzora (secretary for youths), Lynette Mudehwe (secretary for women), Nickson Nyikadzino (secretary general) and Chief Ndlovu (treasurer).

The fight for the MDC-T brand is likely to be decided on Tuesday when Justice Francis Bere delivers his judgment in a case brought to court by the Nelson Chamisa faction which claims it owns the brand.

Khupe is also fighting her expulsion from Parliament and the case will be heard by the full Constitutional Court bench on 30 May.


Don't be shellfish... Please SHAREShare on google
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *