Opposition parties unite, leave Tsvangirai out


Four opposition parties have formed a coalition called the Coalition of Democrats but have excluded the biggest opposition party the Morgan Tsvangirai faction of the Movement for Democratic Change. Welshman Ncube’s MDC, Tendai Biti’s Renewal Team, Simba Makoni’s Mavambo/Dawn/Kusile and Dumiso Dabengwa’s Zimbabwe African People’s Union are reported to have formed Code to establish a “united, democratic, socially just and green Zimbabwe in which all are free, equal, and prosperous and enjoy happy and fulfilling lives”.  But in what looks like a still-birth of the new coalition, Code will have no leader. The parties agreed that each of the leaders of the four parties will automatically become chairman and there will be a rotating system for the chairmanship of the coalition. It is not clear therefore whether Biti will represent the Renewal Team or the party would be represented by Sekai Holland. Code will have its own symbols and logos and will sponsor candidates for elections.


Don't be shellfish... Please SHAREShare on google
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Like it? Share with your friends!

Charles Rukuni
The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *